top of page

Eggcellent Progress


Good evening!

I just wanted to take a moment to write a quick update on my egg donation journey thus far! As of today, I have been taking gonal-f for 4 days. At first, I was injecting into my belly but I found it very uncomfortable so I've been using my upper thighs instead. I went to the clinic today for my first followup appointment. Each followup consists of blood work and an internal ultrasound to closely monitor my body's response to the hormones. Everything looked good today so beginning tomorrow morning, I will also be taking Cetrotride. This is another injection (one that will unfortunately have to go in the belly) that will prevent my body from ovulating. No sense in putting all that work into maturing some eggs if they're just going to be released by my body and wasted! This allows for them to be retrieved (or even 'harvested') at the proper time. I haven't really experienced any emotional side effects as I was warned may happen, but I am just generally uncomfortable. My abdomen is pretty bloated and tender right now... stretchy pants are my go-to and I've been avoiding any unnecessary physical activity. When I spoke to my nurse about this today, she recommended eating a high protein, high sodium diet and avoiding foods that are high in potassium. She also told me to swap out my water for Gatorade to help with the bloating. I now have a fridge full of Gatorade despite the fact that I hate the stuff. Hopefully I'll start to feel a bit better within a few days. Tomorrow night, I'm going to try going to the gym and see how I do with some light cardio and weight training. I haven't been in a week and a half so I'll ease myself into it but I definitely miss going! Anyway, I'm going to head to bed now... I swear I'm even more sleepy since starting my injections. I just wanted to provide some detail on the early stages of egg donation for anyone who is interested in this. As always, feel free to comment below or to message me privately if you have any questions or comments.

Goodnight. :)


bottom of page